Ouch!

Wow, if looks could kill I would be dead. But like a duck, the projected anger and hurt rolled right off my back.  A few years ago the same situation would have played out quite differently.

Life has a way of changing a person.  For most I think personal growth is a gradual process.  For me, the process was a radical redirect that has left some people in my life confused and unhappy. Call it what you will; aging, taking stock of ones life, or adopting a more tranquil lifestyle. I simply call it self-nurturing.  In some cases distancing myself from negative, judgmental people could be more accurately described as self-preservation.

Whatever label you choose to apply, it all boils down to one thing, putting oneself first. And despite the occasional blowback, for me this has been a positive life changing experience.

Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

