Smile Offset

What shows on the surface is not necessarily what lies beneath. It can be helpful to our inner peace, and to society as a whole if each and everyone of us looked within for causation before projecting out.

Like a wave, smiling is what lies on the surface and can mask what lies beneath.  Not an intentional personal trait, it is just part of who I am. Smiling has gotten me into trouble both personally and professionally.  To some my smile was an invitation to come closer, and get to know me.  To others it was a threat to their authority. No people, sometimes a smile is just that a smile, an inner sense of well-being shining through.

Also, I am an eye person. I listen to the eyes equally or more so then what is actually being vocalized. For me it is a truism; eyes never lie, and they are the windows to the soul. To some this is an invitation, to others there is a fear of being unmasked. In retrospect I had a compound problem; smiling a lot, and direct eye contact.

The way I saw it, I had a choice. I could blame everyone for not understanding me OR I could adopt coping mechanisms to minimize how people perceived me. Having pinpointed some of my interpersonal difficulties I learned to employ counter-body language to minimize my natural tendencies.  It seemed like a much more productive solution then to have an expectation that everyone else should change.

Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

