The Killing Field Revisited

While hosting our Christmas holiday festivities this year a number of birds hit the windows at one time with a heartwrenching thump, thump.  The mass hit seemed to challenge my previous observations and remedies in my blog posting The Killing Field.  Although the hits did not result in bird fatalities I have thought about that day from time to time.

Yesterday a similar occurrence happened. I wondered why after days of not having a bird window hit would several birds hit the window at one time.  Maybe it was the position of the sun and the reflection of the trees in the window, but I am not convinced that would account for numerous birds making a series of hits in a short span of time.

Thinking back to when we lived on an old homestead surrounded by fields and woods.  It was not unusual to have birds at the feeders scatter en masse when a hawk was near.  There were several times after a hawk fly over, he would perch in the trees overhead and make a loud clicking sound. At the time I wondered if he was serious about the hunt or did he just like the sport of scaring the songbirds.

Just thinking, maybe I need to be more observant and respond to the next mass bird hit by walking out on the deck to check out the skyline and treetops overhead to see if there is a hawk in the area.

Kietie’s Olde Thyme Soap

Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

