The House That Jack Built – Painting A Basement Wall

Beginning with an area that will be a future basement bedroom wall, I applied a latex primer using a dense roller.  I ran a bit short on primer so I found some left over exterior white paint to finish the job.  This was not one of my better impromptu ideas.

After the fact I found out although using an exterior latex paint will work, it is not recommended. It is a softer paint and more prone to scuffing then an interior paint product.  AND more importantly an exterior paint will release more VOCs (volatile organic compounds) when it cures then an interior paint. If someone has a respiratory problem such as asthma, the VOCs can aggravate their condition.  But not to worry, the exterior primer has been covered over with two coats of interior paint.

After the holidays I will paint the rest of the basement using a FREE five gallon bucket of latex paint (when a paint contractor changes out colors he will dump the unused paint in a bucket. The end product is usually a cream to tan color). I just couldn’t say no to free!

Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

