The Migrants

The mass migration began with a slow subtle increase in traffic heading north.  By weeks end the migrants dominate the north bound lanes of traffic.

On the road making their way to deer camp the immigrants often stop to pick up a few things along the way. Two popular destinations: The Man’s Mall (up north that would be Fleet Farm) and the local grocery store. The less adventurous casual shopper would be advised to avoid both locales the Thursday or Friday before  deer hunting season opens.  Because the migrants descend on both shopping outlets en masse.

Not to worry, they are easily identified by their state of overdress in blaze orange and camouflage.  At the Mall they are aggressive shoppers knowing exactly where to go and what they need, but their shopping prowess ends at the grocery store.  Grocery shopping takes on the intensity of the hunt as the would be hunters congregate around the meat, beverage, and snack aisle.  Deep in discussion they mull over their options, and likely as not, pick the largest package of any given item. Whether their hunt is successful or not is of no consequence for they have purchased enough rations to feed a small army.

Kietie’s Olde Thyme Soap

Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

