The House That Jack Built – Rock’in

Living in a glacial dump of metamorphic rocks and boulders is a bane for both the builder and farmer.  If your are a farmer, every spring, frost pushes to the surface an never ending crop of rocks. Building in such an environment requires heavy equipment to not only excavate a basement, but also to remove uncovered boulders. Using boulders in landscaping can be a challenge also, but not so much, if you have neighbors who are willing to use their logging truck with a loader to pick up and move boulders.

Boulders were strategically placed to form a protective barrier around our well casing, and to provide a natural screen between the propane tank and our house.  Cleaning the boulders with a high powered spray, enhanced the unique colors and features of each rock. The exposed features quickly faded as the water evaporated.  To recreate the wet look, I applied one coat of concrete sealer.  A single application was just enough to enhance the color and flaws, but not so much as to give the boulders an unnatural high gloss finish.

Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

