How Much Wood Could A Woodchuck Chuck?

Wearing a luxurious reddish brown coat, the woodchuck (aka ground hog) peeked around the corner of the garage. Watching him from the window above the kitchen sink, I discouraged my husband from evicting the seemingly docile creature.  That was until the woodchuck began to eat his way around the perimeter of the garage methodically mowing down my flowers as he went.

Soon we were to discover “good old Chuck” had not only deflowered our plants, he had also set up housekeeping under our garage.  Industrious, he had begun a systematic burrowing operation that had the potential to compromise the integrity of the slab foundation.

Digging out his burrow, we back filled the area with hard clay dirt that was packed tight.  If Chuck returned, we would have to consider a more permanent eviction option.

Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

