Gremlin Bell Times Five

Ever present, the road gremlin lurks, hidden among the workings of the bike. Gremlins don’t ride free, they carry evil road spirits.
As everyone knows, the spirits have highly sensitive hearing.  The constant ringing of the guardian bell on the bikes confined space drives the gremlins insane. Loosing their grip, they fall, and hit the roadway creating potholes.
Five bells adorn my bike.  All were given as a gift which doubles their magic.
The ringing of a bell serves as a constant reminder that one mistake can exact a price, perhaps your life.  Attaching a bell to the left swing arm acknowledges brothers and sisters that have gone down riding.  I am hopeful a bell never has to be hung on my bike in remembrance (although we have been hit and have gone down we have been fortunate. Our injuries healed and the bikes were repaired or replaced Deer vs. Bike Collision Survivior)

Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

