The House That Jack Built – Septic Odor Revisited

A simple solution for our indoor septic odor problem (Reference Stink Pipe) in the end was not so simple.
Of course not, why would it be…..today, the plumber was back again.  The roof vent pipe was clear of ice and snow, so the problem didn’t originate there.  Leaving us to conclude the problem was in the basement.

The lift station that was installed in our home had been highly recommended for its quality gasket seal system. In theory, if our basement was ever flooded with fresh water, the water could not seep into the lift station, and overload our septic tank and drain field.

The cover on the lift station was opened, and the gaskets were inspected.  All the gaskets were intact, but the plumber noticed one of the power cords was not snug in its gasket casing. After correcting the problem, a sealant was applied to reinforce all the lift station gaskets before it was closed.

Whether or not our problem is solved, only time will tell.

Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

