The House That Jack Built – The Stink Pipe

Intermittently an odorous stench rose from the basement of our new home.   We gave the plumbing contractor a callback to help us pinpoint the problem. In a manner of minutes the problem was resolved, A temporary roof vent terminal cap had not been removed after construction. At the time, removing the cap to make the stink pipe fully operational seemed like an easy fix.

Unfortunately we soon discovered a new “stink” situation.  Occasionally the roof vent exhaust would be caught in a downdraft  bringing the unpleasant odor to our outdoor living space. The proposed remedies required a roof vent terminal fix; extending the pipe, install a return bend (90 or 180 degree bend (depending on the fix source)) or install a vent filter.  Regardless of what remedy we choose, it will have to wait until the spring thaw.
Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

