A Word About GERD

A word about “GERD” and “THE COUGH”.

Anyone that knows me, knows my cough.  It has been my constant companion for 20 years (give or take a year)..  For those of you who don’t know me, suffice it to say my hacking cough does get the attention of people around me.  Some have asked if I have been checked for TB.

My sister-in-law (God bless her) shared a conversation she had with a co-worker.  The co-worker had chronic asthmatic, bronchitis symptoms, and had undergone a battery of medical testing with no relief  Recently the co-worker had lunch with a friend, who upon hearing her symptoms, said “You have GERD”.  Sure enough, the random luncheon diagnosis proved to be the answer to a ongoing medical mystery.

GERD symptoms can be, but not limited to; chronic cough, asthma, sinusitis, chest pain (can exhibit as a heart attack), and bad breath, to name a few.

With nothing to loose, I tried the over the counter med, Omeprazole. After two weeks on the med, my hacking cough and the heavy suffocating phlegm was gone!  I am happy to report two months in to the GERD self diagnosis, I am., for the most part symptom free…..taking an occasional cough drop for a tickle in my throat.

Side Note: Symptoms listed were gathered from internet sites where it is reported children with GERD can exhibit similar symptoms.  I do not have any medical training.  If you think you or your child might have GERD, please consult your Doctor for treatment.

Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

