Job Loss and the Process of Renewal

After the Rain

I wrote my first profile nearly a year ago………”Hitting the street, used and discarded, but not broken. Working five years, managing offices wherever, and whenever needed. Working like an undocumented employee at substandard wages, with no voice, no benefits, working off the clock, and giving more than 110 percent. I loved my job, and looked forward to one day securing a permanent position with my employer. Then came the recession; out of the blue I received a RIF letter (reduction in workforce); no warning, no heads up, no validation of a job well done”.

As the anniversary date of my termination draws near, I have reached the final stage of acceptance.   It has been a long, turbulent journey.

During this time there were job interviews, but I feel until I reached the stage of acceptance, I wasn’t truly prepared to start over.

Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

