Steel Magnolia

TO GROW, IT TAKES A SEED

The Steel Magnolia can thrive in the most unexpected circumstances. To grow, it takes but a seed.

At the time, it was uncommon for a parent of one race to adopt a child of another race, let alone do it as a single parent.  So it began, the parent and child bonded, and became a family.   As a toddler, the daughter was hyperactive, difficult  at times, but with patient parenting her behavior was manageable.

As the child grew, so did the learning disabilities.  As a young teen, the disability coupled with emerging mental health issues became more complex. The public education systems ability to accommodate the dual challenge collapsed, but the child kept a presence there until adulthood.

Unfortunately,  the Steel Magnolia was to weather a more ominous storm.  In adulthood, there was an awakening in the daughter, she realized physically,  she could take control.  Here is where the mental health community, designed to protect the patient, would also be the patients undoing.  What was a mother to do when she is physically at risk?

This story will not have a happy ever after ending.  Although, I know under the circumstances, it will have the best possible ending. The Steel Magnolia will make it so, even if she has to relinquish the role of the sole loving caretaker to that of a loving visitor.

The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong in the broken places. 
–  Ernest Hemingway

Published by

kietie

Down in my basement, lined neatly on a shelf are handwritten notebooks chronicling my life. After years of writing, the experience became more of a burden then an important part of my day so I quit writing. Five years later I took up writing again. This time it was in the form of a blog which gave me a place to hang out after I lost my job. From there my blog content morphed into writing about my general contractor experience building our house. As my life experiences grew so did my blog.

Leave a Reply

